Update of the INCE-USA Awards and Honors

Update of the INCE-USA Awards and Honors

At the Winter 2018 meeting of the INCE-USA Board of Directors, exciting and well-deserved changes were made to two of the Institute's most significant awards. The INCE Foundation proposed to rename the Distinguished Noise Control Engineer and Excellence in Noise Control Engineering Awards to honor William W. Lang and George C. Maling, to recognize their remarkable contributions and efforts as founders, officers and volunteers of the Institute. Board of Directors unanimously agreed with the proposed changes, which result in the following new names for these awards:


       William W. Lang                                               George C. Mailing

The William W. Lang Award for the Distinguished Noise Control Engineer


The George C. Mailing Award for Excellence in Noise Control Engineering

We are excited that these new names will forever honor Bill's and George's contributions to our Institute. At the 2018 Awards Ceremony, we will have a special presentation to recognize their contributions and this change. Please look forward to joining us for the Ceremony in August.

We are currently accepting nominations for these awards, along with the INCE-USA/NCAC Laymon N. Miller Award for Excellence in Acoustical Consulting, and the Martin Hirschorn IAC Prize - Best Paper Award for recognizing accomplishments in the industry.

For students, we are also accepting nominations for the Hallberg Foundation Award and Michiko So Finegold Award that support travel to the conferences.

These awards will be presented at the upcoming INTER-NOISE 2018 meeting in Chicago, IL, in August 2018. A brief summary for each of the awards, including submission/nomination deadlines, is available at the conference website: www.internoise2018.com.

To receive an application for an award nomination, please send a request to:

Jeffrey L. Fullerton, INCE Bd. Cert., LEED AP

INCE Vice President, Honors & Awards

Email: vp_awards@inceusa.org

For more information about the INCE Awards program, including a complete list of past awardees, please see the INCE-USA Awards page.

Sustaining Members

  • Acentech
  • CT
  • CGA
  • GERB
  • Hush Soundproofing
  • Illingworth
  • NCE
  • SVI Dynamics Logo small
  • Wilson Ihrig