The William W. Lang Award for the Distinguished Noise Control Engineer

The The William W. Lang Award for the Distinguished Noise Control Engineer recognizes individuals who have rendered conspicuous and consistently outstanding service to the Institute and to the field of noise control engineering over a sustained period. This honor corresponds to the title "Distinguished Professor" in academia and to the Honorary Fellowship Award of professional societies such as the Acoustical Society of America.

The William W. Lang Award for the Distinguished Noise Control Engineer is offered biennially on even-numbered years. It will be open for nominations in the months preceding NOISECON 2020.

Award Recipients

2018 Michael A. Bahtiarian

Michael A. Bahtiarian

In recognition of ongoing outstanding professional noise control engineering services for wide-ranging industrial, environmental and marine applications and support of INCE-USA. Michael’s contributions represent the spirit and passion that embodies the exceptional qualities of the Award’s namesake.

2016 Rajendra Singh

Rajendra Singh

For his years as an outstanding researcher in the area of gear noise, an exemplary educator in the noise control industry, and for extensive contributions to INCE-USA and I-INCE that have enhanced professional discussions and connections within the industry.

2014 J. Stuart Bolton

J. Stuart Bolton

For contributions to noise control technology and engineering through education, research and service to the Institute of Noise Control Engineering.

2014 James K. Thompson

James K. Thompson

For leading international collaborations in reducing tire and brake noise and vibration, along with his leadership with INCE/USA and NNI.

2012 Courtney B. Burroughs

Courtney B. Burroughs

Professor, consultant, researcher, editor, INCE Board member; Dr. Courtney Burroughs has served the acoustical engineering community for nearly fifty years.

2010 Alan H. Marsh

Alan H. Marsh

For pioneering contributions to aircraft noise reduction, efforts to improve technical standards for sound level meters and for sustained service to INCE.

2004 Eric E. Ungar

Eric E. Ungar

World-class engineering scientist, consultant, teacher, and author with significant international contributions to acoustics, noise and vibration control, structural dynamics and damping.

2003 Robert J. Bernhard

Robert J. Bernhard

For contributions to numerical, experimental, and active methods in noise control, and for exemplary service to noise control education and to INCE.

2002 William W. Lang

William W. Lang

For leadership, nationally and internationally, in the establishment of industrial noise programs, noise control organizations, and standards for noise control.

2001 George C. Maling Jr.

George C. Maling Jr.

For pioneering leadership in establishing noise control as an engineering discipline, and for exceptional contributions to the development of international and national noise control practice and standards. 

1997 Leo L. Beranek

Leo L. Beranek

For extraordinary and sustained contributions in engineering and practical applications in noise control engineering, in teaching, and publications for the education of noise control engineers, and for the formation, development, and sustenance of the Institute.

Sustaining Members

  • Herrick
  • Blachford
  • Scantek
  • CGA
  • NCE
  • HMMH
  • Ebco
  • PSU
  • Illingworth
  • EAR
  • CT
  • Regupol
  • Kolano and Saha Engineers, Inc.
  • CDM Systems
  • SVI Dynamics Logo small